Pilgrimage for Thanksgiving Food

Posted: November 24, 2009 in Holidays

With the winter holiday season formally knocking at my door, all that seems to be missing is a blanket of that dreaded white stuff.  I’m particularly torn this November about the snow situation, or lack thereof.   With Thanksgiving just days away I sure like the idea of a safe trip home, and if you have lived in Wisconsin long you know snow really complicates that.  My pilgrimage for delicious Thanksgiving food is only about 70 miles, and upon reaching my destination I shall be handsomely rewarded with bountiful meals and leftovers that will keep me off Ramen Noodles till Christmas.  Or at least that’s how it always plays out in my dreams.

My favorite part about Thanksgiving is going back home, and it seem like with my busy schedule I haven’t been able to do this often enough.  I can’t wait to see my parents, grandparents, brothers, sisters, cousins, aunts, uncles, niece, cats, ferrets, fish, dogs and any other members of the family I forgot.  It’s going to be great to be back at home!!  I think the change of scenery is just what I need for a few days.  It may sound strange but heading back home is kind of like a mini vacation now a days.  A chance to remove myself from the hustle and bustle I call daily life, and recharge.

Although this week will be filled with faces not seen in months, or even years, I’m sure it’s not going to be all fun and games.  With the semester quickly coming to an end, homework has begun to pile up.  It seems like every class has something major due just after Thanksgiving and with graduation trailing by just a few weeks, now is not the time to slow down.  Nothing is more important than finishing this semester off strong, so if that means spending a few more Friday nights with my dog Buster studying, then so be it.

To make things just a little worse, my laptop decided it was time to take a permanent break.  No matter how much I yell at it, it just refuses to respond!!  With not many other options, I have decided that I will venture out at 2am on Black Friday and compete for a “Door Buster” computer.  It’s been a long time since I’ve risked life and limb to save a few bucks at Best Buy, but what the heck it should be fun!!  Hopefully my next post will be via my amazing deal!!

Happy Thanksgiving!!

Comments
  1. Casey says:

    Have a safe trip, Dan! And Happy Thanksgiving.

  2. Mr Rank says:

    Safe travels, Mr Hahn.

  3. Mr Rank says:

    Have a safe trip Dan. Hopefully you can share some of your leftovers with me!

  4. Barb Dreger says:

    Good luck on getting that Doorbuster Dan- don’t forget your helmet and mouthguard on Black Friday!!!

Leave a Reply

