Building My Budget

Posted: January 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

Another major thing on my list was to come up with some kind of working budget.  It’s kind of embarrassing to admit I’ve never sat down and worked out a complete budget, but it’s also a major reason why my financial aid money never lasted as long as it should have.  You know this feeling if you ever had to cash in the change under your driver’s seat so you could get coffee during exam week or have had to have parents or friends loan you gas money to get home for the holidays.  I’ve always been told its part of being a college student; the struggles build character and humility.  It’s not that I don’t agree with this philosophy, I just wish there was a less stressful way to accomplish it.

Coming up with a budget wasn’t nearly as easy as I thought it would be, just because there isn’t a lot of money to take into consideration.  You can only stretch a dollar so far, and as I started to account for how I was spending my money it was easy to see why it didn’t last.  It also put things into perspective; I spend the same amount of money at pool league as I do on gas for a week.  I would never have guessed that, but now I know if money is tight I need to find a sub for pool.  I already feel more in control knowing that I’ve found a way to make it work on paper and I hope that I can stick to it and make it work in the real world.

If you haven’t picked up on it yet, I’m constantly looking for ways to reduce or eliminate stress in my daily life.  Whether it’s created by school, work, finances or relationships, I just want it gone!  Everyday I’m learning new tips and trick to manage and eliminate these stressors.  Check out some of the links I used to help create my budget….

FAFSA Web Site

FVTC General Financial Aid Info

College Parents of America

Chase Bank Budgeting Advice

Leave a Reply

