Project Linus

Posted: February 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

While I was browsing the FVTC Event Calendar I came across an even for Project Linus.  If you’re not familiar with Project Linus, their mission is…

to provide love, a sense of security, warmth and comfort to children who are seriously ill, traumatized, or otherwise in need through the gifts of new, handmade blankets and afghans, lovingly created by volunteer “blanketeers.”

Basically they make and distribute security blankets to children that need them most.  I was fortunate enough to be involved with a Project Linus event back in November.

I had to pick an organization to volunteer with, for my Contemporary American Society class, spend at least 10 hours with the organization and summarize my experience in a half hour presentation. At the time I had never heard of Project Linus, and was volunteering at the Winter Wonderland of Lights Holiday Stroll in Campbellsport.  They just happened to have been doing a fundraiser together while I was there.  I was so touched by the people and the stories I heard about Project Linus that I ended up changing the topic of my presentation.  Starting over from scratch just days before the big speech was due so I could share everything I had learned about Project Linus.  I encourage you to check out the Project Linus web site and consider getting involved February 20th from 9am-3pm.  They have set a goal of seeing 200 people join them and making 500 blankets.  If you want to get involved you can sign up in student services!!  So stop down, check it out and get involved with this amazing organization!!

Leave a Reply

