Bring on Summer!!

Posted: May 19, 2010 in Brewers Baseball, Golf, Sports, Student Life, Timber Rattlers, Uncategorized

School is officially done for the semester!  I finished up the final paperwork for my internship class yesterday afternoon and now I’ve got a few weeks with no school.  It was a really strange feeling last night to have no homework to be chipping away at, no chapters to read or tests to study for.  Looks like I’m gonna have a lot of free time to fill and I don’t plan on wasting it.  For the first time in five or six years I got out and hit the golf ball around a little.  It was just a trip to the driving range but it made me remember how much fun a little time off from school can be.  Almost all my friends golf on a pretty regular basis, so as soon as I get myself some new clubs I think I’ll be playing a few times a week.

Despite not talking about it much, turns out I’m a pretty big brewers fan!  Growing up in Milwaukee I was really lucky to be able to see a ton of games at County Stadium.  Granted it’s been a rough couple of decades for Milwaukee baseball, but I’m no fair weather fan.  I just flip my cap inside out and keep routing on the Brew Crew.  This season has been particularly painful to watch though; I know you can’t win ball games if you don’t score runs but I don’t think that’s the problem.  After catching the ninth inning of yesterday’s game I’ve got a question….

On a much better baseball note, I was finally able to take advantage of the free Timber Rattlers (Brewer’s single A team) tickets I got from Student Services.  I make my first trip ever to Fox Cities Stadium to watch the Rattlers beat out first place Beloit Snapper last sunday.  It was a great game and an even better deal!  We sat like seven rows from the field, definitely close enough to catch a foul ball or a brat from the bratzooka.  If you don’t know what the bratzooka is you should probably stop down in student services and get your free tickets so you can check it out!

Leave a Reply

