Some well deserved fun in the sun

Posted: May 26, 2010 in Uncategorized

Wow, my first week of summer vacation really flew by.  With the weather in the upper 80’s, I’ve made a point to get outside and do something every day since I have no homework to monopolize my time.  I recently rediscovered some hobbies I had before coming to college.  I mentioned I got out to the driving range not too long ago, but I managed squeezed in three rounds of golf since then and I picked up a new set of irons.  They have yet to magically improve my score but I have high hopes.

I also spent last weekend back home in Germantown, I haven’t been back since Easter so it was nice to get to see everyone again.  On Saturday we packed the family up and headed down to the Milwaukee Public Museum to see the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit before it leaves in a few weeks.  I knew it was going to be really interesting, but I wasn’t expecting to spend close to three hours exploring it.  I would have to say hands down it’s in my top 5 favorite museum exhibits.  We got there a little early so we walked through the butterfly room, an exhibit where there are thousands of live butterflies and if you’re lucky a few will land on you.  Well you could say I got lucky, I had a rather large one land right on my finger and while I was holding it up for a picture it hopped onto my chin and tangled its little legs in my goatee.  Talk about weird, I couldn’t get the little bugger to let go.

Sunday morning we took the boat out and I couldn’t have asked for a better day!  It was warm and sunny, and for being only the middle of May the water was already almost 70 degrees.  This is by far the earliest I’ve ever ventured into the water; it was so nice I didn’t even bother with a wet suit.  There was a ton of traffic on the water so it was kinda rough for wakeboarding but I had a blast.  There’s nothing better than getting dragged in circles for hours and then wrapping the day up with a cold drink while fishing.  All this warm weather makes me want to forget about summer school starting in just over a week.

What up for next week:

  • Heading home for some Memorial Day weekend fun
  • Golfing
  • NO SCHOOL!!
Leave a Reply

