Student Organizations: more than just free pizza

Posted: September 15, 2010 in Uncategorized

When I first transferred to FVTC a few years back, I was looking to get more involved as a student.  At the college I was attending prior, I was part of a Math and Science club on campus.  I looked forward to our monthly meeting; who was going to lecture, what was it going to be about, and spending and hour with like minded individuals.  This is where I formed most of the relationships that continued after I left that school, and where I learned of my very first internship.  Way back in the day the Math and Science club helped me secure that first internship.  I was introduced to one of our guest speakers by a professor of mine and the rest is history.  I realized that if I didn’t seeking out these opportunities someone else would.

Looking back to my freshman orientation at the Oshkosh Riverside Campus, I remember listening to Krystal, who was the Collegiate DECA president on campus at the time.  For those not familiar with DECA, it is an international organization that focuses on preparing you for your career field.  Its geared towards business and management student in a variety of disciplines from design to business ethics to hospitality & tourism.   I may not have know all that at the time, but what Krystal said was enough to get me to the kick off meeting a few weeks later.  Not knowing exactly what I was getting myself into I showed up for the free pizza, what I got was a whole lot more than cheese and sausage…

  1. Real world experience – Getting to coexist with successful people is awesome, but getting to work alongside them is even better!  My involvement with Collegiate DECA has paired me with professionals from companies such as Finish Line, College Pro Painters, T.J. Maxx/Marshalls, Walgreens, Valpac, and many more.
  2. Network, Network, Network – Have you ever been told it’s not what you know, but who you know?  Well, you do have to possess the relevant knowledge, but rarely is that enough to take you across the finish line.  DECA is a catalyst for coming out of your shell and in the process you’re going to meet other students, teachers, and community members that all share the same passions.  As I’m now finding out, these are the people willing to help me as I try and transition from student to employee!!
  3. Travel – Not all clubs come with this perk, but because I’ve enjoyed success in Collegiate DECA competitions I’ve traveled to Madison WI, Green Bay, WI, Atlanta, GA and Anaheim, CA.  I’ve never been to Mexico or Florida for spring break, but that’s a sacrifice I’ve been willing to make!!
  4. Build your resume – Sure getting through college with straight A’s is awesome, not that I would know; but how far is that really going to take you?  I choose to balance my resume by getting involved, showing I not only posses the skills valued in the classroom, but the ability to adapt to my surroundings, think on my feet, and work with others.

So there you have it!  Hopefully you got to check out some of the Student Organizations last week in the commons, but if you haven’t it’s not too late to get involved!!  Take some time to look through all the clubs that are available on campus, what do you have to lose?

Leave a Reply

