Not goodbye, but see you later

Posted: March 8, 2011 in Uncategorized

So it been a while since I’ve written here, actually it’s been since the semester ended all the way back in December.  The last few months have been filled with lots of new and exciting things.  First of all I’m only taking 6 credits this semester, after earning my Business Management degree last semester I decided to take a couple more classes for myself.  I wanted to take a few classes that would expand on the web experience I’ve gathered through my internship so I’m taking couple online Dreamweaver and HTML classes.  This has also given me the opportunity to expand my internship and be a part of some really cool projects before I disembark.

A little over a year and a half ago I began the journey that soon turned into Impressions From an Intern, my very first attempt at stepping into the blogosphere.  It’s tough to imagine that when the internship opening first appeared on my radar, I almost let it slip away.  I was barreling down on graduation and so focused on what I thought I was supposed to be doing.  If not for a push from a few of my favorite instructors (Sandy and Teri) I might be sitting in a very different chair than the one I currently occupy.  Anyways, I got the internship and with it I got to create this blog.  Possibly the coolest project I’ve gotten to work on, it exposed an interest for web design I didn’t really know I had.  I guess for as long as I can remember I’ve had this kind of nerdy sided secretly tucked away, but now that I’m embracing it I’m finding completely new avenues and opportunities  to explore.  It’s really exciting to finally be enjoying what I do every day; but that was the reason I came to FVTC – to find my passion.

That passion has guided me to where I am now. Like I mentioned earlier, pursuing some web development credits has afforded me the opportunity to be a part of a few other projects that might be considered outside the scope of my normal duties.  Currently under development is a blog to showcase innovation here at FVTC.  Guided by our very own VP for Instructional Services, Chris Matheny, Innovation 365 will give you an inside look at how FVTC is innovating everyday.

Another exciting project that will get underway soon is picking a student to replace me in my role as a student blogger.  When the whole blogging endeavor began it was just me, my goal being not only to set up my blog but to pave the way for what could be future blogs.  Shortly after launching this blog I was enthusiastically joined by our college President, Dr. Susan May as a way for her to share some of her personal perspectives.  With the added success of Dr. May’s blog the decision was made that it was time for the addition of another student blogger, and in September of last year me met Becca!!  As a non-traditional student studying Culinary Arts and Hotel/Restaurant Management Becca shares her unique insights in A Fox in the Kitchen.

As I write my final chapter as an FVTC student, there are hundreds of new students out there just beginning to write their futures.  You came here wanting to be nurses, teachers, fire fighters and mechanics, with drive and dedication I know you will leave FVTC prepared for whatever the future holds for you. Who knows, you may even be the NEXT student blogger!  My advice to you is simple: take it all in, go watch Foxes basketball games, crowd into the commons for lunch time music, join a club or two, volunteer for Breakfast with Santa – because it’s so much more than just late nights of homework.

Thank you to everyone who made all this possible, it’s been incredible!!

Dan

Comments
  1. Becca says:

    Aww… *sniffle*…. I’m going to miss big nerdy, geeky, wonderful you! You’d made it through an amazing experience, and I’m so proud of you for having the courage to step outside of your comfort zone and share that experience with all of your readers. YOU ROCK, Dan! Best wishes to you for a lifetime full of wonderful things. May God bless you!

Leave a Reply

